Back in Canada: Fernie!

Standard

After many months on the road, most of them in the tropics, we are back in the country of maple syrup, (ice) hockey, toques, Kokanee, “Eh”s, mountains, plains, mega-friendly people, red and black plaid shirts, poutine, Tim Hortons, Nanaimo bars, camp fires, beavers and bears – you guessed it: Canada!

20130329-172631.jpg

We have some fun times ahead, meeting up with friends and family here and there. This weekend, we are in Fernie, BC, for our friend Cowboy’s stag party. Well, a little correction, Kyler is here for the stag party, I am staying at a hostel in town away from the man-party while keeping myself busy.

The weather is absolutely stunning, typical “påskevær” (easter weather) as we call it in Norwegian. I am cruising through one of Bill Bryson’s travel tales, go for coffee, walk around town and today I went cross country skiing. Kyler came with me, as he has taken a liking to this very Norwegian past-time activity. The rental skis were of the no-wax type, which make them not glide like I would like them to, but nothing could stop me from loving life outside in the sun!

20130329-181137.jpg

20130329-181549.jpg

20130329-181943.jpg

20130329-182012.jpg

20130329-182046.jpg
Cross country skiing is (the?) one activity I am still better at than Kyler. He usually falls a time or two. I like to ski behind, so I can see it in all its glory (and snap a photo!).

20130329-182314.jpg
When that’s been said, Kyler is also the one who often will win something. This time (like every time), he won “roll up the rim to win” at Tim Hortons, a Canadian coffee, bagels and doughnut institution named after a former hockey star. Kyler won a doughnut and was very happy about that!

After skiing and lunch, I drove Kyler back to the man-house on the hill. The scenery is beautiful!

20130329-182826.jpg

Tonight, a movie festival is on my schedule and tomorrow I will be rocking the slopes solo-style!

Wishing you all a fun weekend!

One thought on “Back in Canada: Fernie!

  1. ekobyrne

    There are lots of activities you are better at than Kyler! Drawing! Hammer throwing! Hand-writing anything on paper! I guess it sucks to win fewer donuts, but you could draw a comic strip about it sometime.

Leave a Reply

